Friday, 11 December 2009

I´d love to be able to write something witty in spanish here by now... but alas! I CANNOT!

It turns out Spanish is a difficult language to master... I´ll get there in a few years. I just had my last lesson, got a certificate and everything... proper old school. Although for what it´s worth, I ask for the bill at a restaurant last night and was handed a spoon... 'er, gracias y la cuenta por favor?' I obviously have a long uphill language struggle ahead of me.

So, my stay in Buenos Aires is coming to an end, it started badly but has got much MUCH better. I have amigos! and funtimes, there are few (but not too many) hot portenos (local dudes), Ive been robbed... the good/bad balance is restored. Oh and I find it interesting that taxi drivers wish you luck when you get out of the cab.. What the fuck?

I conclude my BA experience with this... You can cope with pretty much anything a dirty theiving city can throw at you, but NOT a fat snoring german in one´s dorm... that my amigos, is one step too far. She didn´t last long.

The next chapter will be from Brasil! If im not robbed of my only remaining credit card, or taken hostage, or get lost along the way....

Friday, 27 November 2009

Tu Madre...

My My, What a bloody week.

I´ve survived despite the shit internet connections, shit mobile network, shit weather and shit spanish conversational skills.

No, really. BA is a slow burner, I´m really starting to like it, you just have to sit back, relax, embrace technology like it´s 1984, nod and say si, and avoid small dirty thieving children on the streets.

Things are on the up, I escaped the vampire host, survived nearly a week with no vegetables. Moved to a hostel which is sane by day and just not right by night. Thumping techno will haunt me for months to come i fear. I regularly wake up for ´school´to find people have lost their way... in more ways than one. This, might i add, is a state I hope to find myself in when my spanish motherfucking school is finished. When I woke up this morning most people were going to bed, they must think im a big fat party pooping gay.

Went to see the Bocca Juniors play (football) and was advised to move to an area where the away fans wouldn´t `piss on us´. Yes, that´s right, I came very close to a golden shower.

All this tomfoolery aside, I´m itching to get on the road... the long 55hour road to La Paz...

Friday, 20 November 2009

First Day in Buenos Aires

I can´t help but feel a little bit homesick already, I think it´s going to take a couple of dias (!) to get used to all of this. I DON´T HAVE TO DO ANYTHING which is fucking wierd, I don´t have to go to work and I don´t have to think about what to have for dinner, which i know i definately shouldn´t be moaning about but it´s still bloody wierd all the same! I´ve realised I´m a fan of routine today and hopefully i´ll get used to not having one.

Not to mention the hurdles I have to navigate: To Flush Or Not To Fush?
I really don´t want to fuck up my host ladies toilet and plumbing. Oh and my host Lady is nice and all that stuff but looks like a vampire, funny considering we´re in an optimal climate for a golden glow, why opt for the white with purple lipstick and white fluffly hair look? AND she doesn´t speak any English, fucking awesome. What was i thinking? A Brit travelling to Argentina expecting to be greated in perfect English? Of course... Im english! The first thing she said to me was ´hablo no Ingles´, she should have said óoh your going to have a tough time here´.

Im missing picking up the phone and calling any of my mates, and I miss mi familia! Hopefully It´ll pass!

Thursday, 29 October 2009

Shit Shit SHIT!

Hello... First blog... don't know what to say. I'm going travelling! lalalala!